Skip to content

Nutcracker_myLastBlogPost(Weekly)

December 10, 2011

I attended my last fine arts event for the semester tonight, and I have to say, I don’t think I could have picked a better performance to end the semester with than the Nutcracker. The Nutcracker was performed at the Bama Theater by the Tuscaloosa Community Dancers as well as some UA dance majors. The dancers were extremely graceful throughout the entire performance. This is one of the first times I actually noticed the technique some of the dancers had such as the way they extended their leg while dancing. I really enjoyed it. But it wasn’t just the dancers that made this performance spectacular- it was everything involved in making this performance possible. For example, the background music, the lighting, the backdrop, and especially the costumes. I thought the costumes were exquisite- they were colorful and they added life to the dance numbers. The Nutcracker is still being performed Saturday and Sunday. I suggest you try and go if you have the time – even if you have already attended all your fine arts events for the semester. This truly was a special performance.

Oh and I had the added bonus of sitting near two little kids. The comments they made about throughout the performance and the questions they kept asking their parents made me enjoy it all the more. They seemed really inspired by the dancers. One of the little girls wanted to go straight home after it was over to put on her bathing suit and a pair of tights! I think we have a future ballerina in the making!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment